We got into the park and since we didn't have seats it was a little awkward, hands full wandering around like lost puppies. It was ok though, we found a place behind home plate that was actually a really decent place to watch/stand. We bought Phillies hats because I really like baseball hats and I knew they would be a team I would like to watch and be a fan of. The game started and the Pirates were doing really good, 3 runs in the first inning, 2 in the second, it was looking good for the Pirates. Meanwhile I was scouting out seats that were open and in the 3rd inning we decided to sit in some great seats behind home plate. That lasted until the 6th inning! During the game I heard someone say something about the Vice President being there but I didn't really believe her until I looked down at this odd crowd of kids and then sure enough there in a red Phillies hat was the VP. He was nice enough to sign some stuff for the slew of kids that were dying to meet him. We took a few pictures and then I told Devin he should go down there and get a close up with him. I knew he had the guts and I didn't but I didn't really think he would do it. He took off with the camera to go hang out with Biden. During the 6th inning the Phillies scored 3 runs. It was exciting but the Pirates still had the upper hand. A couple minutes later Devin came back and he looked pretty embarrassed. He said he just walked on down to the Vice President until someone stopped him and asked him if he had special seats so he had to leave the are. We were only 30 feet from him so that was good enough for us.
When he sat down and got situated a few people came over to where we were sitting and started looking at their tickets and the seat numbers and we looked really stupid at that point. They asked if we were sitting in the right seats so we eventually had to move after an embarrassing display of trying to figure out where our seats were. In the 7th inning Pirates scored 2 more and then the 9th inning came. The score was now Pirates 7 Phillies 3. Tons of people had left so we scored some good seats to watch the rest of the game. 9th inning Phillies scored 5 runs, I can't remember all that happened but pretty much there were a couple home runs and the rest was a blur of screaming and clapping and crossed fingers and they pulled through with a victory. It was a great game. Devin didn't have a voice after the game, it was awesome!
No comments:
Post a Comment